Mad Hatters' Blog

Mad hatters love tea parties… we love them… especially the cake. We also love good food, fun events and interesting people!

Jelly & Ice Cream September 14, 2010

Filed under: Food,Recipes — Jen @ 9:39 am
Tags: , , , ,

I got rather excited (albeit prematurely) that this year we were going to have a wonderful summer – there were at least 3 solidly sunny weekends in Devon – and so went searching for some fun summer desserts. Unfortunately it’s taken so long for me to actually write these up that it’s now September, but let’s hang onto summer for a little bit longer…..

I have combined two different recipes in this post, just because they seemed to fit quite well! I tried them both separately – but feel free to give them ago together. Thanks to BBC Food & the Daily Mail for the recipes respectively.

Sparkling Jelly

Sparkling Jelly - The Final Product

  • 300ml hot water
  • 55g caster sugar
  • 500ml sparkling rose wine
  • 4 leaves of gelatine
  • 150g raspberries
  • Put the water and sugar into a saucepan over a low to medium heat and stir to dissolve the sugar, then raise the heat and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, simmer for five minutes, then remove the pan.  Pour the sparkling wine into a separate bowl and add the gelatine. Leave this until the leaves are soft and squidgy (this should take a couple of minutes).Once soft, remove the leaves from the wine, squeezing off as much liquid as possible, and add them to the sugar syrup.Whisk furiously until the gelatine has completely dissolved (this shouldn’t take too long), then pour the syrup mixture into the bowl with the sparkling wine and whisk to combine.

    Allow to cool thoroughly, then refrigerate the jelly for about one hour. As soon as it starts to thicken, stir in the raspberries. This is where I encountered a slight problem, my liquid wouldn’t set. I haven’t yet established if this was primarily caused by the fact my fridge was too full of food, or because I kept opening it every 5 minutes to see if the mixture had set yet – probably both. In my impatience I softened another gelatine leaf in a small amount of water and added this to the mix. I went out for a few hours to see some friends and by the time I came back it was ready to add the fruit! Then I poured/spooned the jelly into six glasses and covered them with cling film. Then I put them back into the fridge overnight to set.

    Strawberry & Balsamic Vinegar Icecream

    I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of putting balsamic vinegar with strawberries, but never tried it until now. It’s definitely worth a go. I tried the strawberries whilst they were marinating in the vinegar and it was worth it = YUM!

  • 450g strawberries
  • 3tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 300ml double cream
  • 1 x 218g tin condensed milk
  • 200ml ready-made custard (see method from my rhubarb & custard tartlets recipe )
  • Chop the strawberries and place them in a bowl with the vinegar. Stir and leave to marinate for about 30 minutes. After 30 minutes reduce the strawberries in a food processor until smooth.

    In a separate bowl whisk the double cream until it forms soft peaks. At this point you can stir in the condensed milk, custard and strawberry purée.

    Once everything has been combined pour the mixture into your dish of choice and freeze for up to 6 hours. Remove from the freezer 10 minutes before serving. A tip for all those Le Creuset kitchenware owners – I froze mine in one of my Le Creuset ceramic dishes and it took much longer than 10 mins to defrost. In fact I took one portion to a friend’s house to have with desert and we left it out all the way through dinner quite happily and it was just about ready to eat once we came to dessert. Sorry – no pics of this one. I had camera issues but I’ll definitely be trying this again and I’ll post some then…..

    Jen x

     

    Leave a Reply

    