Mad Hatters' Blog

Mad hatters love tea parties… we love them… especially the cake. We also love good food, fun events and interesting people!

Hummingbird Bakery Awakening! May 25, 2010

Filed under: Food — Jen @ 5:50 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I have long been a fan of baking. I don’t think there’s anything more relaxing (well at least when everything is going right-those who have seen me when things are going wrong would disagree!) Thankfully I also work with people who appreciate cake (nearly) as much as I do. Each week on Friday our office stops completely at 10.30am to gather at one end of the office for tea and cake. We have a rota and each week two members of the team bake and bring in cake. This is, understandably, my favourite part of the working week. Last week I was treated to the MOST AMAZING lemon cupcakes from the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook (http://hummingbirdbakery.com/more/the-cookbook/).

I heard of The Hummingbird Bakery a few years ago thanks to an American friend of mine (thanks Celeste) but somehow I never got around to picking up the Cookbook. That is until last Friday. After tasting the wonderfully light, fluffy and ‘zesty’ cupcakes at cake-time I knew that I could no longer live without this book!

After a ridiculously excited email to Cat, Sarah and my other half telling them how amazing the cupcakes were and how much I now needed this cookbook I came home to everything I needed (thanks Fook!)!

Everything I needed to get started....!

I made the lemon cupcakes straight away! With a little help from Fook as my electric whisk was broken and my arms cannot stand up to the kind of whisking needed to create the frosting! They came out really well,  light and fluffy just like the ones I’d tasted that morning, only mine could have been decorated better. In my defence I did try and rush them through after work and before heading over to Cat’s for dinner so I’m sure with a little more time I could get the presentation spot on. I’ll leave Cat & Sarah to let you know how they came out – they’ll have a much more objective view than me.

But I can’t recommend the Cookbook enough. Having read some reviews I know some people find their recipes difficult to follow as they often require you to stick very closely to them! I’ll keep you all updated if I make any ingredient substitutions and let you know how it goes…. it’ll happen sooner or later! In the meantime if anyone has had any experience of adding ‘artistic licence’ to their favourite Hummingbird Bakery recipes then I’d love to hear about it.

Next up I’ll be trying the double choc chip cookies (anyone who has the book will know I’ve been seduced by the picture.) They look delicious. Following that will definitely be the Raspberry Chocolate Cheesecake Brownies.

Jen

 

3 Responses to “Hummingbird Bakery Awakening!”

  1. The cake was goooood… The icing was really nice and they were good and lemony. I may have eaten three but I did not feel good after the third one… so maybe stick to two at a time. That’s my advice for this recipe.

    Cat

  2. Al Says:

    I bought this book for someone for a birthday present, but starting to wish I had just kept it for myself … do you do mail order :oP ?

  3. teaandcakecrazy Says:

    You most certainly should have kept it for yourself! Maybe you could ‘borrow it back’?! Check out the post i’ve just added on Raspberry Chocolate Cheesecake Brownie from The Hummingbird Cookbook.

    Jen


Leave a Reply

